Our Team - Anthony Vipin Das

Anthony Vipin Das

Dr Anthony Vipin Das, FRCS

Designation: Consultant, Comprehensive Ophthalmology Service
Specialisation: Comprehensive Ophthalmology
Email: vipin@lvpei.org
Location: Kallam Anji Reddy Campus, Hyderabad

Anthony Vipin Das is an Ophthalmologist by passion and an Innovator by choice. He completed his Post Graduate Training in Ophthalmology from Kakatiya Medical College, Warangal. He then pursued a short term fellowship in Oculoplasty under Dr Julie Woodward at the DUKE University, Durham, USA. He is also a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons and Physicians, Glasgow. His specific interests include Ocular Trauma and Community Ophthalmology and he is currently pursuing research in the field of Regenerative Medicine and Eyeball Transplantation. He has presented widely both on National and International Platforms.

He is the Team Principal and Chief Architect of eyeSmart EMR, a revolutionary award winning Electronic Medical Record and Hospital Management System developed in-house at LVPEI. The system is currently operational at varied platforms in the LVPEI Network, such as City Centres, Tertiary Centres, Secondary Centres and Village Vision Centres and has checked in over 310,000 consultations over 3 years. He is also the Founder of REPOrT (Rural Education and Prevention of Ocular Trauma) which has addressed over 20,500 rural children in the prevention of Ocular Trauma and is an ongoing project.

He is a Member of the International Task Force for Emerging Technologies for Teaching and Learning at the International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) and is passionate about developing meaningful ophthalmic educational content on the Internet. He served as an Advisor on Healthcare Innovation to the Ministry of Medical, Health and Family Welfare, Government of Telangana, India. He is the Principal Investigator and Mentor of projects in the visual rehabilitation space such as the Braille Phone, FITTLE and LeChal - The Haptic shoe for the Blind. He is a TED Senior Fellow and is named among the Top 35 Innovators under 35 years of age in the world (TR35 2012) by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA.