Our Team - Sujata Das

Sujata Das

Dr Sujata Das, MS, FRCS, MAMS

Designation: Director & Taraprasad Das Chair of Ophthalmology
                        Medical Director, Drushti Daan Eye Bank
Specialisation: Corneal Disease and Eye Banking
Email: sujatadas@lvpei.org
Location: LVPEI Bhubaneswar Campus, Bhubaneswar

Sujata Das received her basic medical degree and postgraduate training in ophthalmology from Berhampur University, Odisha, India. She completed her subspecialty training in Cornea and Anterior Segment at LVPEI, Hyderabad. She did an ICO fellowship in Cornea at the Department of Ophthalmology & Eye Hospital, University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany. She also completed a clinical fellowship in Cornea at the Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital and CERA, University of Melbourne, Australia. She is the recipient of Developing Country Eye Researcher Award - 2011, ARVO Foundation, USA; IJO-AIOS Gold Award - 2010; and B K Narayan Rao Oration Award - 2013, All India Ophthalmological Society.

Dr Das is actively involved in subspecialty ophthalmology and optometry education. She has served as an ORBIS faculty for the evaluation of subspecialty education program in Cornea. She has been associated in a number of clinical trials/research projects as principal investigator and/or co-investigator. She is currently working on the genetic analysis of Fuchs’ Endothelial Corneal Dystrophy. She has authored over 75 peer-review manuscripts, articles & book chapters. She is reviewer to numerous research journals of national & international repute.

She has clinical expertise in corneal disease & surgery with special interest in corneal infection, ocular surface reconstruction, and eye-banking. She has worked extensively on the treatment of microsporidial and fungal keratitis.