Key People

Dr Taraprasad Das MD, FRCS, DSc

Vice-Chair Emeritus
L V Prasad Eye Institute

Dr Das is the Vice Chairman Emeritus of the L V Prasad Eye Institute. He is Professor of Ophthalmology at the Sun Yet-Sen University, Guangzhou, China; and Adjunct Professor of Ophthalmology at University of Rochester Medical School, Rochester, NY, USA; and Fellow, National Academy of Medical Sciences, India.

The current leadership positions of Dr Das include: Regional Chair, International Agency for Prevention of Blindness (IAPB) Southeast Asia; President, Asia Pacific Vitreo- Retinal Society (APVRS); Member, Research Committee, Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO); Associate Editor, Asia Pacific Journal of Ophthalmology (APJO); Member, Editorial Board, Ophthalmic Research; Member, International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) Ophthalmology Specialty (Vitreo retina) Training; Chairman, Ethics Committee, Indian Institute of Public health (IIPH); Member of Board, VISION 2020 India; Member, Advisory Committee, 13th Five Year Plan, Governemnt of India; and Member, Member Task Force, Diabetic Retinopathy, Government of India, and Mentor, Leadership Development Program, Asia pacific Vitreo- Retinal Society.

He is also former President of All India Ophthalmological Society (AIOS) and Vitreo Retinal Society of India (VRSI), and the Chairman, Program committee (Retina), Assocation of Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO), USA. The Indian Journal of Ophthalmology (IJO) celebrated the golden jubilee when he was the Editor-in-Chief of the journal.

Dr Das has delivered 13 named lectures, has received 24 awards from state and national societies (1993- 2015) in India, from the Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO, 2006 and 2013) and the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO, 2003 and 2015).

He was conferred Doctorate of Science (Honaris Causa) by the Raveshaw University in year 2011. Government of India conferred high civilian honor (Padma Shri) in year 2013.